World T20: Can team green learn from past tournaments?

Thursday, March 13th, 2014 7:17:36 by

In a special presentation The Express Tribune brings to you the sentiments of Pakistan players taking part in the ICC WorldTwenty20, the squad members spoke exclusively to us about their goals, aims and ambitions ahead of the mega tournament.

The tournament in Bangladesh in the fifth world championship in the shortest format of the game, past winners include India, Pakistan, England and the West Indies.

2007 First ICC World Twenty20: South Africa

The first edition of the Twenty20 World championship was staged in South Africa. Pakistan led by Shoaib Malik had an outstanding tournament; the men in green played the final of the event where they were beaten by India in a closely fought encounter. There were two Indo-Pak cliff-hangers in the event, the first one ended in a tie in Durban. India led by MS Dhoni won that encounter through a bowl-out competition.

The final was a see-saw affair that was won by India in the last over of the match played in Johannesburg, Misbahul Haq fought hard for his team before his dismissal brought the game to an end, sparking wild celebrations in the Indian camp.

There were some major upsets in the tournament, hosts South Africa failed to qualify for the semi-finals while Australia who were at their dominant best in all formats of the game lost to Zimbabwe in a group match.

2009 Second ICC World Twenty20: England

The second edition of the crash, bang and wallop format’s world championship was staged at the home of cricket, England. Pakistan led by Younus Khan had a poor start to the event; they lost to England in their opening match, before caving in tamely against Sri Lanka in a crucial second round match.

But like the cornered tigers of Imran Khan’s tremendous comeback in the 1992 50-over World Cup the men in green bounced back to thrash New Zealand and Ireland to book a semi-final clash with South Africa.

The Proteas who were unbeaten in the tournament fell to the all-round brilliance of Shahid Afridi in Nottingham; the final was also dominated by Boom Boom who capped a memorable tournament with an unbeaten fifty in the final against Sri Lanka.

Younus announced his retirement draped in a Pakistan flag at the post match press conference at Lords; the victory was significant for his team and came merely months after the terror attack on the Sri Lankan team in Lahore.

2010 Third ICC WorldT20: West Indies

Pakistan remained World Champions for less than a year though, as the tournament’s third edition was staged by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in the West Indies in 2010.

Led by Shahid Afridi the defending champions lost their group match against Australia, in the second round back to back defeats at the hands of England and New Zealand almost sent them out of the reckoning.

But lady luck smiled briefly on Afridi’s team, the South Africans once again bowed out of the event against an inspired Pakistan, other results were also turned out in the favour of the defending champions helping them book their place in the semi-finals.

The semi-final was all Pakistan’s before an extraordinary innings by Michael Hussey dashed the hopes of an entire nation. Hussey carted the most reliable bowler in the Pakistan line-up, Saeed Ajmal in the final over of the match to help his team chase down a mammoth target of 192.

2012 Fourth ICC WorldT20: Sri Lanka

The fourth edition of the championship was staged in Sri Lanka; Pakistan was led by Mohammad Hafeez in the tournament. Hafeez to date is the only captain to lead the men in green in two World T20 events.

Pakistan defeated New Zealand and Bangladesh in the opening rounds; the team looked in great form and was given the tag of the favourites for the title along with the hosts.

In the second round the 2009 champions lost to India in a one-sided affair, before that game they maintained their stranglehold on the Proteas in this format by pulling off a nail-biting win.

The two Umars, Akmal and Gul played some dazzling strokes to win the match after the top order had caved in tamely in pursuit of a modest target.

Pakistan defeated Australia comfortably to ensure a semi-final spot, becoming the only team to feature in the knock-out stage of all four editions of the tournament.

The hosts ended the party for Hafeez’s men in the semi-final as the batsmen succumbed to the pressure of a chase in a do-or-die clash.

The team for this year’s World Championship is a balanced one on paper; the team hopes to win the tournament for the second time and is banking on the experience of playing the hard fought Asia Cup recently at the same venue.

Lahore News Sources -2

Tags: , , , , , ,

Short URL:

Posted by on Mar 13 2014. Filed under Latest News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google Deals
Log in